About Us

About Us: 

NTAA’s Executive Committee

The NTAA is a Tribal membership organization currently with 155 Member Tribes whose mission is to advance air quality management policies and programs consistent with the needs, interests, and unique legal status of federally recognized Tribes. The NTAA’s membership grows yearly. 


Left: Members of the NTAA Executive Committee (Tiffany Lozada, Steven Smith, Billie Toledo, Angela Benedict, Lucas Bair, Rosalie Kalistook, Brandy Toft, Syndi Smallwood, Janice Archuleta, and Randy Ashley) at the 2022 NTFAQ as well as NTAA Staff (Mariah Ashley and Andy Bessler), ITEP Staff (Mehrdad Khatibi) and Laura McKelvey and Pat Childers.

Additionally, the NTAA serves as a communication liaison and information conduit between Tribes, EPA, and other federal agencies. The NTAA exists to assist Tribes in air quality policy work while respecting and supporting Tribal sovereignty and the Tribes’ rights to a government-to-government relationship with the federal government.

The NTAA is governed by two Executive Committee members for each of the 10 EPA Region as well as the state of Alaska. These EC members are titled as Primary Representative and Alternate Representative. The EC work together to promote policy that will ensure that our descendants will breathe air that is cleaner than it is now. The EC hold a special responsibility to represent their Tribe and Nations. To become an EC Member, the Tribes in each EPA region and Alaska selects both a primary and alternate representatives. If you share an interest and would like to learn more, please email NTAA Project Director, Andy.Bessler@nau.edu.

Mission, Goals & Governance
Become a Member
Interactive Tribal Members Map

NTAA Executive Committee:

Marvin Cling, Sr
Read More

Region 1 (Alt)
Passamaquody Tribe
at Pleasant Point

Email: marvin@wabanaki.com

Angela Benedict
Read More

Region 2
Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe

Email: angela.benedict@srmt-nsn.gov

Steven Smith
Read More

Region 2 (Alt)
Shinnecock Indian Nation

Email: SteveSmith@shinnecock.org

Scott Hansen
Read More

Region 4
Catawba Indian Nation

Email: Scott.hansen@catawbaindian.net

Tiffany Lozada
Read More

Region 4 (Alt)
Poarch Band of Creek Indians

Email: tjanes@pci-nsn.gov

Brandy Toft
Read More

Region 5, NTAA Vice-Chair
Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

Email: brandy.toft@llojibwe.net

Vallen Cook
Read More

Region 5 (Alt)
Grand Portage Band of Chippewa

Email: vallenc@grandportage.com

Craig Kreman
Read More

Region 6, NTAA Treasurer
Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma

Email: ckreman@quapawtribe.com

Billie Toledo
Read More

Region 7, NTAA Secretary 
Prairie Band of Potawatomi Indians

Email: billietoledo@pbpnation.org

Joseph Painter
Read More

Region 7 (Alt)
Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska

Email: joseph.painter@winnebagotribe.com

Janice Archuleta
Read More

Region 8 
Ute Mountain Ute Tribe

Email: JArchuleta@utemountain.org

Randy Ashley
Read More

Region 8 (Alt)
Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes

Email: randya@cskt.org

Syndi Smallwood
Read More

Region 9, NTAA Chairwoman
Jamul Indian Village of California

Email: ssmallwood@jiv-nsn.gov

Lucas Bair
Read More

Region 10
Spokane Tribe

Email: lucas.bair@SpokaneTribe.com

Caleb Minthorn

Read More

Region 10 (Alt)
Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation

Email: CalebMinthorn@ctuir.org

Rosalie Kalistook
Read More

Alaska Region

Association of Village Council Presidents

Email: RKalistook@avcp.org

NTAA Staff:

Andy Bessler

NTAA Project Director

Email: Andy.Bessler@nau.edu

Read More
Carolyn Kelly

NTAA Research Associate

Email: Carolyn.Kelly@nau.edu

Read More
Mariah Ashley

NTAA Program Coordinator

Email: Mariah.Ashley@nau.edu

Read More
Ryan Tsingine

NTAA Research Assistant

Email: Ryan.Tsingine@nau.edu

Read More