About Us

About Us: 

NTAA’s Executive Committee

The NTAA is a Tribal membership organization currently with 155 Member Tribes whose mission is to advance air quality management policies and programs consistent with the needs, interests, and unique legal status of federally recognized Tribes. The NTAA’s membership grows yearly. 

Group photo taken at the 2022 National Tribal Forum on Air Quality in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Includes members of the Executive Committee, ITEP and NTAA staff.

Additionally, the NTAA serves as a communication liaison and information conduit between Tribes, EPA, and other federal agencies. The NTAA exists to assist Tribes in air quality policy work while respecting and supporting Tribal sovereignty and the Tribes’ rights to a government-to-government relationship with the federal government.

The NTAA is governed by two Executive Committee members for each of the 10 EPA Region as well as the state of Alaska. These EC members are titled as Primary Representative and Alternate Representative. The EC work together to promote policy that will ensure that our descendants will breathe air that is cleaner than it is now. The EC hold a special responsibility to represent their Tribe and Nations. To become an EC Member, the Tribes in each EPA region and Alaska selects both a primary and alternate representatives. If you share an interest and would like to learn more, please email NTAA Project Manager, Carolyn.Kelly@nau.edu

NTAA Executive Committee:

Marvin Cling, Sr

Region 1
Passamaquoddy Tribe
at Pleasant Point

Email: marvin@wabanaki.com

Josh Paul

Region 1 (Alt)
Penobscot Nation

Email: josh.paul@penobscotnation.org

Steven Smith

Region 2
Shinnecock Indian Nation

Email: SteveSmith@shinnecock.org

Angela Benedict

Region 2 (Alt)
Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe

Email: angela.benedict@srmt-nsn.gov

Scott Hansen

Region 4
Catawba Indian Nation

Email: Scott.hansen@catawbaindian.net

Tiffany Lozada

Region 4 (Alt)
Poarch Band of Creek Indians

Email: tjanes@pci-nsn.gov

Brandy Toft

Region 5, NTAA Vice-Chair
Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

Email: brandy.toft@llojibwe.net

Vallen Cook

Region 5 (Alt)
Grand Portage Band of Chippewa

Email: vallenc@grandportage.com

Craig Kreman

Region 6, NTAA Treasurer
Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma

Email: ckreman@quapawtribe.com

Tara Weston

Region 6 (Alt)
Santa Ana Pueblo

Email: tara.weston@santaana-nsn.gov

Billie Toledo

Region 7, NTAA Secretary 
Prairie Band of Potawatomi Indians

Email: billietoledo@pbpnation.org

Kurt Lyons

Region 7 (Alt)
Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska 

Email: kurt.lyons@winnebagotribe.com

Janice Archuleta

Region 8 
Ute Mountain Ute Tribe

Email: JArchuleta@utemountain.org

Randy Ashley

Region 8 (Alt)
Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes

Email: randya@cskt.org

Syndi Smallwood

Region 9, NTAA Chairwoman
Jamul Indian Village of California

Email: ssmallwood@jiv-nsn.gov

Lucas Bair

Region 10
Spokane Tribe

Email: lucas.bair@SpokaneTribe.com

Caleb Minthorn

Region 10 (Alt)
Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation

Email: CalebMinthorn@ctuir.org

Ida Norton

Alaska Region 

Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

Email: lipnorton@anthc.org

NTAA Staff:

Carolyn Kelly

NTAA Program Manager

Email: Carolyn.Kelly@nau.edu

Max Benning

NTAA Program Coordinator

Email: Maxwell.Benning@nau.edu